Stephen Kimmerer
Upper School Visual Arts & Communications Technology
TGJ3M Communications Technology

(Formerly - ASM30-1 Media Arts)

Class# Date Period Topics Resources / Homework
1 Fri, 09 Sep 3 Introduction to Photoshop - 'Learn by Video'

Students are asked to take photographs with digital cameras - Canons t1i's and download to their computers

 
2 Tue, 13 Sep 1 Demonstrate selections and layers in Photoshop CS5. - project - create a Surrealistic Landscape Collage using selections and layers - show examples of style.

 http://lunaticadesnuda.blogspot.com/2009/08/adnray-stunning-surrealistic-portraits.html

http://photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=209032

 

Students are expected to watch chapter 1 of Photoshop 'LbV' 1.1 - 1.10 including the self-test.
3 Mon, 19 Sep 3 http://www.tutorial9.net/tutorials/photoshop-tutorials/design-a-surreal-desert-scene-in-photoshop/

 

Rule of Thirds - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSSOZxLnNyc
4 Wed, 21 Sep 1 Surreal Landscape Due at end of Class.
5 Fri, 23 Sep 3 Painting in Photoshop! - Demonstrate. Illustrate.

 

11x17

outline layer

blending and painting

6 Tue, 27 Sep 1 Photoshop painting. - examples shown - 11x17 - layered - traced and painted

 

 
7 Thu, 29 Sep 3 Mixer brush Video:

http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-photoshop-cs5/using-the-mixer-brush/

http://tv.adobe.com/watch/the-complete-picture-with-julieanne-kost/painting-in-photoshop-part-1/

 
 
8 Mon, 03 Oct 1 Photoshop painting  
9 Wed, 05 Oct 3 Photoshop painting  
10 Tue, 11 Oct 1 Photoshop painting  
11 Thu, 13 Oct 3 Photoshop painting due.

Scanning and Photo-retouching

Great examples of Photo-manipulations

http://www.topdesignmag.com/30-superb-examples-of-photo-manipulation/

 

12 Mon, 17 Oct 1 Scanning and Photo-retouching  
13 Wed, 19 Oct 3 Scanning and Photo-retouching

 

Tee Shirt Design - SAC Legacy

Rules:

The Shirt Must Be School Colours (Red and White)

The Shirt must incorporate the theme for the year:

"Legacy: How will you be remembered"

Its got to be stylish.

 
14 Fri, 21 Oct 1 Scanning and Photo-retouching

 

Tee Shirt Design - SAC Legacy

 
 
15 Tue, 25 Oct 3 Introduction to InDesign - Desk Top publishing program  
16 Thu, 27 Oct 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign  
17 Mon, 31 Oct 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign  
18 Wed, 02 Nov 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign  
19 Fri, 04 Nov 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign

Tutorial 1 - Follow the link below and create a magazine cover in InDesign CS5. Images can be found on the internet. Tutorial is for CS3 but applicable to CS5!!

http://layersmagazine.com/magazine-cover-design-in-indesign.html

 

 
20 Tue, 08 Nov 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign

Cover Design

 
21 Thu, 10 Nov 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign

Cover Design

 
22 Wed, 16 Nov 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign

Cover Design

 
23 Fri, 18 Nov 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign

Cover Design

 
24 Tue, 22 Nov 1 Cover Design Due

Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter 3 & 4

 
25 Thu, 24 Nov 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter 3 & 4  
26 Mon, 28 Nov 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter 5 & 6  
27 Wed, 30 Nov 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter 5 & 6  
28 Fri, 02 Dec 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter7 & 8  
29 Tue, 06 Dec 3 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter 9 & 10 Course Survey - http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/2QSNCVD

 

30 Thu, 08 Dec 1 Learn by Video - Adobe InDesign chapter 11

Major Project 1: 6 Panel How to Brochure

 Using InDesign CS5 and Photoshop CS5 students will create a "How to" brochure. This must be original in it's content. Photos and / or illustrations should be original. Size - 6 panels- 3 front, 3 back on 11x 8.5 paper. 50 marks.

 
31 Mon, 12 Dec 3 Major Project 1: 6 Panel How to Brochure  
32 Wed, 14 Dec 1 Major Project 1: 6 Panel How to Brochure  
33 Fri, 16 Dec 3 Major Project 1: 6 Panel How to Brochure  
34 Tue, 20 Dec 1 Major Project 1: 6 Panel How to Brochure  
35 Tue, 10 Jan 3 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design

Cover

Table of Contents

two page (spread) template

 
36 Thu, 12 Jan 1 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design  
37 Mon, 16 Jan 3 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design  
38 Wed, 18 Jan 1 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design  
39 Fri, 20 Jan 3 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design  
40 Tue, 24 Jan 1 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design  
41 Thu, 26 Jan 3 Major project 2:  Portfolio Design  Due!!

Premiere Pro CS5

 
42 Tue, 31 Jan 1 Learn By Video - Premiere Pro CS5  
43 Thu, 02 Feb 3 Learn By Video - Premiere Pro CS5  
44 Mon, 06 Feb 1 Learn By Video - Premiere Pro CS5  
45 Wed, 08 Feb 3 Learn By Video - Premiere Pro CS5  
46 Fri, 10 Feb 1 Learn By Video - Premiere Pro CS5  
47 Tue, 14 Feb 3 Video Project 1 - Action Event

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t0FF2jV-Mg4&list=PL6578CE2454E8DE7F&feature=plcp&context=C3f3e9f5FDOEgsToPDskLYQW3W1r5WDqe-LDwBSrbB

Project Assignment  documents are posted in the Class folder on the review Drive.

48 Thu, 16 Feb 1 Video Project 1 - Action Event http://www.dependentfilms.net/files.html

A good resource for documentation - script creation, shot list, etc.

49 Wed, 22 Feb 3 Video Project 1 - Action Event http://actioncutprint.com/film-directing-tips/   Tips for shooting a film

http://lifehacker.com/214043/8-ways-to-shoot-video-like-a-pro

http://www.schooltube.com/video/1d1570ccf9e36f992614/

http://desktopvideo.about.com/od/desktopediting/tp/editrules.htm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsgEzEJ_fd4  Rule of Thirds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etVxvl6mcJ8&feature=related 5 deadly sins of video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSqvDRvv22M&feature=relmfu Making video look like film

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0J50v1ygms&feature=relmfu Handheld Video techniques

 

50 Fri, 24 Feb 1 Video Project 1 - Action Event  
51 Tue, 28 Feb 3 Video Project 1 - Action Event  
52 Thu, 01 Mar 1 Video Project 1 - Action Event  
53 Mon, 05 Mar 3 Video Project 1 - Action Event  
54 Wed, 07 Mar 1 Video Project 1 - Action Event Due
55 Tue, 27 Mar 3 Video Project 1 - Action Event - Students are expected to finish 'post-production" the 'Action Event ' project. Due
56 Thu, 29 Mar 1 Motion Graphic Project - Photoshop & Premiere Rubric
57 Mon, 02 Apr 3 Motion Graphic Project - Photoshop & Premiere  
58 Wed, 04 Apr 1 Motion Graphic Project - Photoshop & Premiere  
59 Tue, 10 Apr 3 Motion Graphic Project - Photoshop & Premiere Due
60 Thu, 12 Apr 1 Introduction to Flash - Learn by Video - Chapter 1 - Getting started with Flash CS5  
61 Mon, 16 Apr 3 Chapter 2 - Interactive Tools Panel

 

 
62 Wed, 18 Apr 1 Chapter 2 - Interactive Tools Panel  
63 Fri, 20 Apr 3 Chapter 3 - Working with Artwork

Chapter 4 - Working with Symbols and the Library

 
64 Tue, 24 Apr 1 Chapter 5 - Importing Artwork

Chapter 6 - Working with text

 
 
65 Thu, 26 Apr 3 Chapter 6 - Working with text  
66 Mon, 30 Apr 1 Chapter 7 - Working with Layers and the Timeline

Chapter

 
67 Wed, 02 May 3 Chapter 8 - working with Shape Tweens

Chapter 9 - Working with Motion Tweens

 
68 Fri, 04 May 1 Chapter 11 - Working with Sound

Chapter 12 - Working with Video

 
69 Tue, 08 May 3 13 - Testing & Publishing

Major project - Summative - Kinetic Typography

Animate type using a favorite song, movie or TV scene, a famous speech. The type should move to the sound, and the font style should reflect the 'inflection' used within the lyric or speech.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlKm4NJLrDc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNWOWQxS5gM&feature=fvwrel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TiF2aAx0kds&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PwrECXcKeMM&feature=related

 

70 Thu, 10 May 1 Summative - Kinetic Typography  
71 Mon, 14 May 3 Summative - Kinetic Typography  
72 Wed, 16 May 1 Summative - Kinetic Typography  
73 Tue, 22 May 3 Summative - Kinetic Typography  
74 Thu, 24 May 1 Summative - Kinetic Typography  
75 Mon, 28 May 3 Summative - Kinetic Typography  
76 Wed, 30 May 1 Summative - Kinetic Typography Due

This site is edited and maintained by teachers of St. Andrew's College, 15800 Yonge Street, Aurora, ON L4G 3H7 Canada